I just wanna preface this beforehand, this is my first post and I'm no professional. My research and what I say here isn't gonna be perfect, but I would appreciate some criticism on anything that seems implausible or downright wrong. That's all, now history.

On August 13th, 1521 the Aztec Empire - the most advanced civilization in the Americas - fell to a man named Hernán Cortés and his march of around 800-1000 conquistadors. The Aztecs were given next to no opportunity for time to recuperate or reorganize. Really, they weren't given any time to do much of anything. Hernán and his men did away with approximately 200,000 Aztecs and including European diseases; about 2 million Aztecs died to the Spaniards from the time they landed until Tenochtitlan fell.

The Aztec downfall mainly stemmed from a lack of one thing: time. They didn't have time to understand their threat, they didn't have time to understand the weapons the Spanish used, they didn't have time to recover from their losses, etc. They didn't have time to do just about anything. They were overwhelmed at first contact by Hernán and his insane plot armor.
But what if that wasn't the case? What if the Aztecs and the surrounding native tribes were given a chance to bounce back after first contact? There's no way to possibly have the Spanish avoid Mexico all together, this was a land filled with gold after all. However, imagine if Hernán's invasion failed?