Wi The UK Votes To Leave The Common Market In 1975?

Hi all,

I'm working on a project, entitled 'Brexit... In 1975'-and I'm hoping I can discuss a few ideas:

First of all, given the somewhat lopsided 'in' vote in 1975 in OTL, is there any way of producing the opposite outcome, with the POD after the February 74 election-or ideally, after October of that year? Or, does this require a pre-1974 POD? I have a feeling an embattled Heath government returned in 1974 with a reduced majority could at least do the trick in theory, especially if Heath is actively leading the 'in' campaign, though I have a hard time envisaging Heath agreeing to a referendum given the Tories were at this point the more 'Europe' friendly of the 2 main parties.

Assuming it's doable with a POD after Oct 1974 (so the main players are basically the same as OTL up until June of 75), what are the political consequences? Does Wilson have to resign after such a result, or can he hold on, since he was pretty hands-off during the campaign itself? Would he even try to stick around, given his OTL resignation the following year?
Assuming he resigns around about the same time as OTL, I imagine the 'out' result would embolden the Eurosceptic left, meaning Foot (or Benn, at a stretch) would have a much better chance of replacing Wilson. I doubt it'd be Callaghan (as Foreign secretary, he'd be in the firing line for the result of the referendum in this scenario)-I can't see Jenkins immerging either.
Assuming this to be the case (though maybe I'm overplaying the ramifications), could a more 'electable' 'out' campaigner (Castle maybe) be chosen instead? Or could it be a more junior (and electorally palatable) member of the Wilson cabinet who perhaps kept their head down during the campaign? Or, if there doesn't seem to be an alternative to the far left, could this give Wilson the impetus to hold on longer than he'd have liked?