WI: Srivijaya Dominates Australia (& Beyond)

Hello all. This is my first attempt at a thread, so please offer suggestions for this, rather crude, timeline.

The basic premise is that, WI, Srivijaya made contact with and established dominance over Australia in the 9th century. It seems perfectly possible, given Srivijaya was a huge maritime power in Southeast Asia at that time, and Australia was literally right below parts of it, Australia being inhabited almost entirely by Paleolithic bands and Australia's rich natural resources, little tapped by the Indigenous Peoples. All that is needed is an expedition to the south, then simply set up some outposts.

Once they established a foothold on the land down under, they would probably not bother with conquest and not force conversion to Srivijayan Dharmic practices, due to respect for other people's ways' being traditional in the Indosphere (but would gladly accept converts); women would probably be treated very well by contemporary standards, as is seen in actual history (see also this piece, which shows that even after the Islamization of Indonesia, women still enjoy a status), and in the nearby Chola Empire.

With the advantage of the vast resources of Australia and their strategic position, I see Srivijaya and the Cholas making a peace (if uneasy, perhaps much like with the Persians and the Ottomans.)

With the precedent of Australia, I see Srivijaya exploring elsewhere and maybe landing on the Pacific coast of South America and allying with the Inka if in the 1400s, or the Chimú if earlier, exchanging ideas and crops, further pushing Srivijaya's progress.

The Srivijayans would easily crush the Portuguese should they dare attack them, given that they would have the advantages of Chinese gunpowder weapons and a huge, advanced navy, while permitting them to trade.