The Coup Succeeds.

How long would the USSR have survived if the attempt to overthrow Mikhail Gorbachev in 1991 had succeeded? What role would a hardliner-ruled SU play in today's world?

Germaniac

Donor
No one but the hardliners supported the Hardliners. The Coup failed because it was impossible to succeed. Without the support of the people it would fail, as any government in Russia has without the support of the people.

You'd need a more Yeltsinish Gorbachev or maybe even Yeltsin himself for this to have any public support.

It wouldn't have worked, the Russian people were against it to the point that the Russian military was siding with them. Doomed from the start. All the coup attempt did was bury Gorbachev and end the USSR.

Cook

Banned
Nothing Sadder in an Alternative History website then people who don’t think an alternative is possible.
I was a University student in 1989 and remember watching the Chinese student protests in Tiananmen Square and other cities in China.
At the time we thought that this was a definitive moment in history, that here was a real popular people’s revolution taking place.
Democracy HAD come to China!

Things didn’t turn out quite that way did they?

Ok, so let’s run with the Coup succeeding and Gorbachev being “retired”, much as Nikita Khrushchev was after the Cuban missile crisis.

You have an infinite number of possibilities.

You could have another very conservative but highly corrupt leader like Leonid Brezhnev gaining power, in which case the Soviet Union would probably blunder along as before, slowly but steadily declining. The Soviet leaders relying on brute force to stay in power without the fig leaf of legitimacy.

Or you could have a Russian Deng Xiaoping. A technocrat that is economically liberal but politicly conservative.

There are a couple options for you.