Reforms to the Spartan System

Now i'm not an expert on Ancient Greece, though i do have a decent amount of knowledge on some of the city states. The basic idea is a reform to Spartans class/citizenship system. At the base Spartan classes are:

Homoioi: The equal Spartan citizens

Perioeci: The trader and manufacturer class. These were considered 'free-men' but they werent considered 'citizens' though they were allowed the serve in the Spartan military like the navy or as a support soldiers. This class also include the people of allied and subjugated city-states.

Heloites: The serfs working the plots of land supplying the equals.

Now a big issue for Sparta and one of the reasons they declined was being unable to fully recover from losses in wars/revolts.

The idea i had is that a system of 'Citizenship for Service' is enacted at some point in Spartan history where the Perioeci can become equal Spartan citizens if they serve several years in the military. Now they may not be considered 'fully equal' by the original Spartans, possibly like the 'lower lords' of the future Feudal system, they are equal but not as equal as those who has been Spartan citizens for generations longer. This could allow Sparta to recover from manpower losses much easier and faster than normal.

Additionally another idea that any 'Heloites' who are 'loyal' during any Helot revolt can be advance to thew Perioeci class but this would be a very rare thing to occur. I know this second part is even more but unlikely but curious if it could happen.

Any idea if this is a viable idea?