I'm far from an expert in the topic, but I've been trying to understand how the English Civil War worked.

How could it be avoided? Maybe Charles I wins against the Scotts in 1639 and is therefore not forced to convene the Parliaments. Maybe his support of the Huguenots at the Siege of La Rochelle proved successful, enough to at least stall questions about religiosity. Any help?

Charles doesn't try to impose Anglicanism on the Scots. He was doing fine up until then. If Rupert had been more disciplined the war also could have easily ended in one battle at the beginning of the war, leaving the English Civil War as just a single battle that ends with Parliament crushed by the king and the king's powers expanded significantly.

VVD0D95

Banned
I'm far from an expert in the topic, but I've been trying to understand how the English Civil War worked.

How could it be avoided? Maybe Charles I wins against the Scotts in 1639 and is therefore not forced to convene the Parliaments. Maybe his support of the Huguenots at the Siege of La Rochelle proved successful, enough to at least stall questions about religiosity. Any help?
Charles wins the bishops war, he avoids imposing a common book if prayer on the Scots. Pymn dies before the long parliament sits, thus avoiding his vendetta against Stratford.

Charles wins the bishops war, he avoids imposing a common book if prayer on the Scots. Pymn dies before the long parliament sits, thus avoiding his vendetta against Stratford.
Would that keep the Roundheads silenced forever? Or at least for a longer time?

VVD0D95

Banned
Would that keep the Roundheads silenced forever? Or at least for a longer time?
Depends, the more centrist parliamentarians would probably find a way to content themselves with the kings reign. The extremists? Probably not

there are any number of places where the war could’ve ended with Charles I at least keeping his head.