Dutch comes early: A 1976 Ronald Reagan victory timeline

Intro

Dutch comes early: A 1976 Ronald Reagan victory timeline

By: West234

Jimmy Carter Tried to Make it Easier to Vote in 1977 | Time

Ronald Wilson Reagan is possibly one of the most consequential presidents in modern American history. His presidency changed the entire nation and was felt across the globe. Today he is viewed with vast fluctuations of pride and hatred by both sides but no one denies that influence. In this timeline want to try and imagine a new world where just a simple change in a few years dramatically alters the course of a nation and a presidency. We will chronicle what if Reagan were to win the 1976 Republican primaries.

This is my first time attempting to write a timeline after 3 years on this site and I am going to try my best to provide a comprehensive timeline on something I am actually interested in. Given this is my first ever timeline it might take some time to get the kinks worked out in terms of historical accuracy and in-depth. Often previous projects of mine would be instantly abandoned when I felt overwhelmed by the amount of historical information I had to piece together to make them work. This time though I just want to plunge right down into the deep end and create something as comprehensive as I possibly can.

Why Reagan himself? Well, he has always interested me as a president even if I do not agree with him politically I think his life is impossibly interesting. After looking more into his 1976 primary campaign I just felt that I had to create something from it. So then enough about me, ladies and gentlemen ready yourselves Dutch has come early!

Ronald Reagan Archives - The Spot

Last edited:
Chapter 1: 5 inches down
September 22, 1975
Travel Detective Blog: Remembering the Ford Assassination Attempt