AHC/WI/PC: The Scramble For China Hypothetical

My history teacher is really knowledgable in Chinese history, and he has stated that were it not for World War I, China would have become the next Africa - basically, China would have been carved up into spheres of influence like the Dark Continent was by the European powers, only this time Japan and possibly the United States would have jumped in as well. Does anyone know if this would or could have happened? How might the different regions of China be organized, and to whom would they go? How would all of this happen? And afterwards, what then?

Mind you, I'm not studying this particular area of Chinese history in depth just yet - I'm still studying the Taiping Rebellion, Boxer Rebellion and late Qing reform - but my teacher has mentioned this, so I want to know what the board thinks.

This could happen with the collapse of the Qing dynasty, leaving China in chaos and civil war, like after WW1 were China divided itself.

Japan would of pulled in Manchuria, the UK would of pulled the south areas into their influence but i am not sure about the rest of the powers.

Would probably be easier and just as effective just to influence warlords. No point directly annexing and trying to administer vast swaths of territory (beyond the coastline), like in Africa.

This could happen with the collapse of the Qing dynasty, leaving China in chaos and civil war, like after WW1 were China divided itself.

Japan would of pulled in Manchuria, the UK would of pulled the south areas into their influence but i am not sure about the rest of the powers.

France had a sizeable sphere of influence recognized by the Qing in the south, consisting of Yunnan, Guangxi, Hainan Island and parts of Guangdong. I think this has the potential to lead to another colonial crisis and might lead to a second Berlin Conference to decide once and for all how China gets divided among the powers.