do you like this thread?

• Total voters
Hello and welcome to the four way cold war thread. This is my first time making a thread here so feedback and constructive criticism is appreciated.

There are a few differences in WWII that help set the stage for the Cold War. The biggest and most important change is that in the summer of 1940, as the French army retreats through France and Paris falls, The idea of an Anglo-French Union, made to help the allies continue the war against Germany, is announced. It is received with mixed reactions in both nations, but some politicians remind the French and British public that France probably wouldn't be independent anyway under the Nazis. A few days later, a vote is held in both the French and British parliaments. The measure narrowly passes in France and is a bit more successful in the UK. And so, in August of 1940, France and Britain merged into the Anglo-French Union. The remaining French army withdrew to North Africa and the Axis now had to fight a two-front war in North Africa. This shortens the North African War by around nine months, which in turn makes events like the Italian landings and D-Day happen earlier. WWII in Europe ends in October 1944. The Pacific theater goes similarly to OTL, as the Anglo-French don't have much resources to spare on protecting French Indochina.

Last edited: