WI: Julian the Apostate lives.

Teshuvah

Banned
Hello all! :)

I'm new to the AH board, so I thought I'd start off with a discussion of one of my favorite what-ifs: what if Julian the Apostate, the last non-Christian emperor of the Roman Empire, had lived another 20 years or so? Would he have succeeded in removing Christianity in his "pacifist" way, or would he adopt a more hardline approach? I wrote a timeline about this a while back, but it was very ASB.

Are we assuming he doesn't attack Parthia or (somehow) wins there? Either way, I suspect the overall history wouldn't be much different. Christianity was already dominant and would pick up persecuting polytheists and heretics after he died. Might have affected the church/state dynamic a bit though.

He is murdered before the year has expired.
Don't make the last pagan author's elegy fool you, the people hated him.
And after the parthian fluke, the army hated him as well

I guess it was impossible. At Julian's times the Church was too involved in the Empire's affairs to accept the risk to return to an ante-313 situation; and hardly his successor could be a pagan.

I dont think Julian even had a successor, wouldn't it just be another person realted to constantine who was christian to succede him?

Jovian was chosen since he was in the army, he was quite popular, he was related to big "C", and he was able to strike a bargain with the persians which allowed the amy to get out from the mess Julian had put it

I guess it was impossible. At Julian's times the Church was too involved in the Empire's affairs to accept the risk to return to an ante-313 situation; and hardly his successor could be a pagan.

Really, it is more than that.
Even letting aside the church influence (and that's a pretty big "Even"), most of the people at the time firmly believed in the immanent presence of the Divinity and judged the wordly affairs in terms of divine favour (if successful) or grudge (if not).