P&S: Report on Germany (the Hörnla diaries)

St. Gallen – Switzerland - 17. Juni 2014

Hello everybody!

I am new to this “nuclear history” newsgroup, and actually to the global web in general. It is an amazing thing in order to get to know with people from around the world and I am happy to be on board.

I mean, I have had the opportunity to travel and get outside of Switzerland. I have been to France, Lombardy, Bavaria and even Britain. But it is dazzling to see contributions from Sweden, Australia, the USA, well, basically from all around the world. I read yesterday in the NZZ that one in ten Swiss households now has access to the global web, instead of one in twenty in 2011. And the web is expanding strongly in other countries, too! I hope that this new media helps to truly bring the world together, so that our understanding will prevent further world wars.

Of course, being 21 years of age I cannot tell you much from first-hand experience. And when the generation of my parents tells of the “hardships” which they experienced in the 1980s, I know that is nothing compared to what I read here about other places. But an interesting legacy came upon me due to the recent Death of my uncle Urs.
Urs Hörnla had been drafted into the Swiss military on the eve of World War 3 and later on took part in a lot of missions in destroyed Germany, and in other regions later on as well. He was apparently responsible for drafting a lot of reports evaluating the situation before retiring into civilian life again in 1991.