WI: Failed Crossing of the Delaware?

Now, I'm not an expert, but I often hear that the victory of Washington over the Hessian army at Trenton on Christmas night, 1776, was absolutely crucial, not so much in defeating the enemy, but that it drew new recruits and allies to the cause. What if Johann Ross had posted more guards to watch the river? Would the Hessian be able to fight off the Americans even if they were prepared? Would the revolution fall apart if new recruits wouldn't come, and what would the additional pro-British army in the area have effects on?

Last edited:

Dirk_Pitt

Banned
Now, I'm not an expert, but I often hear that the victory of Washington over the Hessian army at Trenton on Christmas night, 1776, was absolutely crucial, not so much in defeating the enemy, but that it drew new recruits and allies to the cause. What if Johann Ross had posted more guards to watch the river? Would the Hessian be able to fight off the Americans even if they were prepared? Would the revolution fall apart if new recruits wouldn't come, and what would the additional pro-British army in the area have effects on?

A victory at Trenton wasn't really about new recruits(but it might well have been a factor), Washington was hoping he'd be able to hold on to the men he had. A failed crossing or worse a loss at Trenton wouldn't had changed the trajectory the Americans were on(which was a losing one). Had the Hessians been alert to an attack there's no doubt in my mind that the Americans would have lost and badly and on January the first Washington would wake up to no army and would have been devastating to the cause. Washington would have been fired on the spot and most likely replaced with Horatio Gates, a incompetent. Just read this excerpt from Wikipedia about the Battle of Camden: