The Falklands War

What if the dispute over the Falkland Islands in 1770 led to war between Spain, France, and Great Britain? Who would win and how long do you think the conflict could last?

I doubt it would escalate that far

but then I'm not an expert on the period and that isn't helpful at all

I doubt it would escalate that far

but then I'm not an expert on the period and that isn't helpful at all

It was a major incident and there was a very serious chance of war happening if Louis XV hadn't stopped Choiseul when he did.

To be frank, I would say that it wouldn't get that far. Of course, this could get caught up in an alternate version of the American Revolution.

To be frank, I would say that it wouldn't get that far. Of course, this could get caught up in an alternate version of the American Revolution.

It would probably mostly be a naval war and Britain would try to occupy New Orleans. But as I said before if France had backed Spain then there probably would have been a war. As for the American Revolution, unless if there was an earlier POD, I don't think it would have started any earlier as nobody seriously discussed independence from Britain until 1775-6. It also depends on what happens to Lord North. But such a war would also blow a big gaping hole in the "France won't dare intervene in our colonial affairs" theory. The ARW might be avoided altogether when calls for representation comes around.

If the UK had a naval base on the Straights of Magellan then a base on the Falklands would not be necessary. Since it was difficult to colonize (there were a few failed attempts) it could be possible that the UK would just give up on trying to claim it.

France, Belgium, or some other imperial power could use the island as a refueling center and would be willing to pay the huge price to settle there. A war between them could break out.