before the battle

2 what ifs from that

a) Cornwallis defeats the Continental Army and French at Yorktown, or

b) British Naval superiority allows Cornwallis to hold his position or
evacuate in good order.

What's this likely to do to the final settlement of the war in North
America, the Caribbean and elsehwhere, with what domestic effects for
all the belligerents?

I'm just an amateur in this area, but here's a suggestion...

The war ends months later; the Rebels still win, but they don't win as much. The Old Northwest (and perhaps even a chunk of upstate New York) could remain British Territory.

Or is that totally wrong?

1 PoD - The French fleets get beaten and driven off by the British
before the battle

2 what ifs from that

a) Cornwallis defeats the Continental Army and French at Yorktown, or

b) British Naval superiority allows Cornwallis to hold his position or
evacuate in good order.

What's this likely to do to the final settlement of the war in North
America, the Caribbean and elsehwhere, with what domestic effects for
all the belligerents?

A full victory at Yorktown is ASB a successful escape from Yorktown was plausible and only was not achieved because of Cornwallis and his extreme caution prior to and leading up the to siege. I forget the details but there were numerous times to escape via the RN before the French reached the area. I am going to find the book I had on it.

67th Tigers

Banned
A full victory at Yorktown is ASB a successful escape from Yorktown was plausible and only was not achieved because of Cornwallis and his extreme caution prior to and leading up the to siege. I forget the details but there were numerous times to escape via the RN before the French reached the area. I am going to find the book I had on it.